Scholarship Winners Concert

Sunday, April 8 @ 2:00 PM

MWPAI Sinnott Family and Bank of Utica Auditorium

B Sharp Music Club Scholarship Awards

 The B Sharp Musical Club held its annual Musical Scholarship Auditions in the Munson- Williams-Proctor Arts Institute auditorium on Saturday, March 24, 2018. B Sharp has sponsored this competition for nearly 75 years.

Awards for the competition are made in three categories: voice, piano, instrumental. This year’s judges were Janet Brown from Setnor School of Music at Syracuse University, voice; Patricia DeAngelis who is a private instructor in Piano Performance, piano; Travis Newton, an assistant Professor and conductor at LeMoyne College, instrumental.

            The winners of the 2018 B Sharp Scholarship Awards are:           



            1st Place: Libby Militello, soprano, Clinton High  School

            2nd Place: Sylvie Novak, soprano, Clinton High School

            3rd Place: Zachary Polus, bass-baritone, Herkimer High School

            Honorable Mention: Katherine Nelson, soprano, Sauquoit Valley High School

Honorable Mention: Ryanne Solinsky, soprano, Waterville High School




            1st Place: Andrea Brugnara, New Hartford High School

            2nd Place: Caroline Gardner, Central Valley Academy

            3rd Place: Amelia Treat, Home Schooled

            Honorable Mention: Alanna Moonan, Home Schooled




            1st Place: Hannah Kang, violin, Christian Brothers Academy

            3nd Place: Nicholas Adair, cello, New Hartford High School


B Sharp has awarded nearly $50,000 in prize funds in the past ten years.  The club is grateful to the following sponsors of this year’s awards:

     Barbara Carville Memorial

     Broadway Theatre League - Margaret N. Terry Memorial

     Jane Ann Vogel Memorial

     Jean Axelson Memorial

    The John Winter Family Fund Community Foundation of Herkimer and Oneida Counties, Inc.

     Margaret Johnson Memorial

     Mary Alice Goetz Memorial

     Mary Lourdes Tripp Memorial

     Nicholas S. Priore Memorial

     Sally Blatt Memorial

     Utica Music League

     Vivien Harvey Slater Memorial


Our First, Second and Third Place winners will present a concert on Sunday, April 8, 2018 at 2 PM at the Munson-Williams-Proctor Arts Institute Sinnott Family - Bank of Utica auditorium.  A reception will follow in Fountain Elms.

2018 B Sharp Scholarship Winners

1st - Libby Militello
2nd - Sylvie Novak
3rd - Zachary Polus
HM - Katherine Nelson
HM - Ryanne Solinsky

1st - Hannah Kang
3rd - Nicholas Adair

1st - Andrea Brugnara
2nd - Caroline Gardner
3rd - Amelia Treat
HM - Alanna Moonan

B Sharp has been providing thousands of dollars
in scholarship funds to
talented high school musicians for over 70 years.

Our esteemed judges come from colleges and universities
throughout New York State to adjudicate.

Students from Oneida, Madison and Herkimer Counties,
or who study with a B Sharp member teacher from another county,
are eligible to participate.

 2017 Scholarship Winners


1st Place - Mary Magdalene Tehan

2nd Place - Emma Novak

3rd Place - Kevin Spooner, baritone

HM - Clotilde Cecchi and Sidney Mulloy


1st Place -  Sarah Antonevich

2nd Place - Caroline Gardner

HM - Caleb Hoffmann and Eva Borton


1st Place - Hannah Kang

2nd Place - Nicholas Adair

HM - Emma Bartle


1st Place - Mari Sosnowski

2nd Place -  Elizabeth Hahn

HM - Katherine Nelson and Kristin Rivera

2016 Scholarship Competition Winners

1st Place - Emma Novak
2nd Place - Rachel Nunneker
3rd Place - Kevin Spooner
HM - Aaron Barnett

1st Place - Sarah Bobrow
2nd Place - Katie Schlosser
3rd Place Elizabeth Hahn

1st Place - Htee Mu Dee
2nd Place - Caleb Hoffman
3rd Place - Caroline Gardner

1st Place - Hannah Kang
HM - Saulo Ferreira

Please read below what one student has to say about the competition.

Congratulations to our 2015 Scholarship Competition Winners!
1st - Kevin Spooner
2nd - Brett Hammes
3rd - Emma Novak
Honorable Mention - Tessa Hildreth
Honorable Mention - Milleta Oldick

Winds, Brass, Percussion
1st - Katie Schlosser, flute
2nd - Sarah Bobrow, bassoon
3rd - Edwin Brennan, flute

1st - Brian Gadbow, cello
2nd - Saulo Ferreira, cello

1st - Spencer Parrish
2nd - Hteemu Dee
3rd - Caleb Hoffman
Honorable Mention - Melody McCoy-Cole